Northern Province

Northern Province is one of Zambia’s ten Provinces. The Province lies in the Northern part of Zambia, bordering Luapula in the west and Muchinga Province in the east. The Province shares an international boundary with the Democratic Republic of Congo in the North, Tanzania in the North-East, and the great lakes region through Lake Tanganyika.

The Province has special and unique features that cannot be found anywhere in Zambia and the world. These include: Natural resources, appropriate soil, topography and agro-climate, adequate rainfall (for rain-fed agriculture) is assured even during the years when the country faces severe drought. Abundant water and land for commercial agricultural production. Apart from that, the province also has 16% of all SADC’s water resources. Additionally, the Province has a lot of rivers and lakes which cannot be compared with any other place in the country. This can allow for all year-round agriculture activities (wetlands agriculture).

It is home to Lake Tanganyika with many islands which are shared by five countries namely Zambia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and Uganda. The Province also has rich mineral deposits, especially gemstones, salt, and slate stone. It boasts of an international port (Mpulungu port) creating easy access to the Great lakes region. Security and Peace among the people who are very friendly with rich and diverse cultural heritage that has held the people together from time immemorial. Hot springs (Kapisha in Kaputa) and breath-taking Waterfalls are dotted all over the Province. Source of the mighty Congo River is found in Mbala District. Un-spoilt beaches in Nsumbu and Mpulungu Slave Routes, 1st World War Sites, Luchelen’ganga, MotoMoto Museum, form a heritage and rich history of the Province. Rock paintings at Mwela in Kasama and Mungwi. Archaeological sites showing the earliest evidence of Fire at Kalambo furnaces. It has wild game parks, Migratory bird site son Bangweulu swamps, home to the Black Rhino. Tazara Rail line crosses the Province from Kapiri Mposhi to Dares-Salaam, thus making Northern Province the gate way to East Africa.


It covers a surface area of 75, 567 square kilometres. The Province is made up of 12 Districts, namely Kasama (the provincial capital), Chilubi, Kaputa, Luwingu, Lunte, Lupososhi, Mbala, Mporokoso, Mpulungu, Mungwi Nsama and Senga Hill.


Statistics as per 2010 Census of Population and Housing, 1,105,824 with an average growth rate of 3.2 percent per annum. The population in rural areas was 903,208 and 201,616 in urban areas.


The Province has abundant and largely unexploited natural resources. These resources range from lakes and rivers, rapids and waterfalls, splendid landscapes, abundant rainfall and favourable climate.